AAAHC announces newly elected officers for 2012-2013 -4/25/2012


The Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC) today announced its new officers for 2012 – 2013 and a change of title for the executive vice president and CEO, John Burke, PhD, who was named president and CEO of AAAHC.

  • Chair of the Board Karen McKellar, who represents the Medical Group Management Association on the Board, served as vice president of the Board in 2011 – 2012, treasurer in 2010 – 2011, and secretary in 2009-2010.  She served as chair of the AAAHC Accreditation Committee from 2005 to 2009.  Previously, McKellar was a senior administrator for the Lake Chelan Clinic in Chelan, WA, and associate director of the Hall Health Primary Care Center at the University of Washington, Seattle, where she received her degree in sociology.  She served a term as president of the Washington State Medical Group Management Association from 2002 – 2003 and held a position on its board for 22 years. She also served on the board of the Pacific Coast College Health Association.
  • Vice Chair of the Board Margaret Spear, MD, has worked in a college health setting for more than 30 years, and currently serves as an adjunct professor and clinical professor of medicine at Pennsylvania State University, Hershey, PA, and as director of Penn State’s Health Services since 1993.  Previously, Spear worked as a staff physician at the University of California, Berkeley and at Cornell University, Ithaca, NY.  Spear received her medical degree from Mount Sinai Medical School, Manhattan, in 1977 and has taken graduate course work at the Department of Health Policy and Administration at Penn State.  She served on the AAAHC Board as treasurer from 2011 – 2012 and secretary from 2010 – 2011.  She currently serves as vice chair of the AAAHC Accreditation Committee and has been a surveyor for the AAAHC since 1994.  She represents the American College Health Association on the Board.
  • Treasurer W. Patrick Davey, MD, MBA, FACP, serves on the AAAHC Governing Council and is vice chair of the Accreditation Committee.  He represents the American Academy of Dermatology on the AAAHC Board of Directors.  Davey is president of Dermatique, a cosmetic and dermatology practice in Scottsdale, AZ, and has previously served as clinical professor, dermatology and internal medicine, at the University of Kentucky, Lexington.  After graduating from Washington University in St. Louis, Davey completed an internal medicine residency at Indiana University Medical Center, Bloomington, and a dermatology residency and dermatologic surgery fellowship at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City. He completed his MBA at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 2008.
  • Secretary Timothy Peterson, MD, is the chief medical officer of Evercare Select, a program contractor with the Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System in Phoenix, AZ.  Peterson first became an AAAHC Surveyor in 1995, and serves on the AAAHC Surveyor Training and Education Committee.  He has been a public member of the AAAHC Board since 2010.  Dr. Peterson is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin Medical School, Madison, and completed his residency in family medicine at the University of Minnesota. He was the president of the Frederic Clinic in Wisconsin from 1977 to 1987 and later became president and chief executive officer of Thomas-Davis Medical Centers in Tucson, AZ.  He later served as medical director for Pima Health System in Tucson from 1999 to 2006, and was vice president of medical affairs for Bridgeway Health Solutions in Tempe, AZ, from 2006-2007.

“We look forward to working with the new officers as they continue our mission to ensure high quality ambulatory patient care,” said John Burke, PhD, AAAHC president and chief executive officer.  “Our highly dedicated Board will serve an important role as they oversee the direction of the AAAHC and development of Standards.”

Media Contact

Contact: Geoffrey Charlton-Perrin