Eligibility and Term


Orthopaedic Specialty Certification (Foundational)

An organization seeking specialty certification for orthopaedics:

  • Is currently accredited by a nationally recognized accreditation organization or holds current CMS-certification
  • Provides orthopaedic services that may include partial joint replacement and/or back pain management
  • Submits a signed, completed application with all supporting documents and a non-refundable application fee in advance of the survey

Orthopaedic Advanced Specialty Certification (Advanced)

An organization seeking advanced specialty certification for orthopaedics:

  • Meets eligibility requirements listed under Specialty certification (Foundation)
  • Provides more complex procedures, including total joint replacement and/or spine procedures
  • Must have performed a minimum of 10 cases prior to survey
  • Must perform most complex case at time of survey (for example, total joint replacement, not partial)

Term of Certification

  • Certification is awarded for a three-year period.
  • An annual Continuous Assessment and Self Attestation is required to be completed by January 31 of each year. The purpose of this activity is to support the organization with continuous measurement of compliance with current versions of the handbook and has no bearing on an organization's certification status.
  • For AAAHC-accredited organizations, certification can be concurrent with accreditation. However, if the organization is seeking deemed status accreditation, the survey will be unannounced.