Cast your vote for the People’s Choice Award! View the Kershner QI Study Finalist posters now

Meet AAAHC Officers and Board of Directors

Board of Directors work in close collaboration with AAAHC leadership

Our volunteer elected Board of Directors operate according to the AAAHC bylaws and work in close collaboration with the AAAHC President & CEO to set strategic direction, provide necessary resources, and make key decisions that the AAAHC staff then implement to meet the needs of our accredited facilities and those seeking accreditation.

AAAHC Board of Directors are elected by members of the Engaged Constituency.


Edwin Slade, DMD, JD
Board Chair
Term 2022

David Shapiro

David Shapiro, MD
Board Chair-Elect
Term 2022

Larry Kim

Larry Kim, MD 
Term 2023

Timothy J. Peterson, MD
Immediate Past Board Chair
Term 2022


Steven Butz, MD 
Term 2021-2024

W. Patrick Davey, MD, MBA
Term 2020-2022

Jan Davidson, MSN, RN, CNOR, CASC, CNAMB
Term 2021-2024

Robin Elwood

Robin Elwood, MD, FAAP, FASA
Term 2020-2022

David Gans, FACMPE
Term 2020-2022

Joy Himmel

Joy Himmel, PsyD
Term 2020-2023

Kristine P. Kilgore, RN, BSN
Term 2021-2023

Valerie F. Kiefer, DNP, APRN, ANP-BD
Term 2021-2024

Mark Mandell Brown

Mark Mandell-Brown, MD
Term 2020-2023

Ex-Officio Member

Noel M. Adachi, MBA
President & CEO

Male doctor smiling

Achieving Accreditation

Strengthen your accreditation readiness

Achieving Accreditation is an interactive, immersive event designed to help you learn and prepare for your AAAHC survey while developing a deeper understanding of AAAHC Standards. We are facing the future together…1095 Strong!

Learn more about Achieving Accreditation

Doctor with family

Kershner Quality Improvement Award

Check out exemplary studies

Kershner QI Awards recognize excellence in quality improvement methodology and outcomes for AAAHC-accredited organizations in both the surgical/procedural and primary care space.

Learn more about QI innovation