You are here:

Bernard A. Kershner Innovations in Quality Improvement Award


An award program established in 2004 by the AAAHC Institute for Quality Improvement designed to recognize exemplary QI studies in both the surgical/procedural and primary care settings.

The awards were originally called the Innovations in Quality Improvement Awards. A few years later, the AAAHC Institute changed the name of the award to the Bernard A. Kershner Innovations in Quality Improvement Award to honor Bernie Kershner, the first Chairman of the AAAHC Institute Board of Trustees.

Bernie founded one of the first non-physician-owned multi-specialty surgery centers and he was the first non-physician President of FASA, now known as the Ambulatory Surgery Center Association.

Bernie Kershner had a real drive for excellence and quality. He was quoted as saying that he established procedures for his surgery centers that were “far above what could possibly be required of a health facility… to raise the bar for professional competency at every single level of the organization.”

We hope to communicate his passion for quality through this award program that we refer to as “the Bernies.”

How to apply for the 2020-21 Bernies QI Award:

Submissions for the 2020-21 program will open in the fall. Check back for a link to the application in September.

When the submission process opens, you will be asked to complete an online application describing an exemplary QI study conducted at your organization. The description of your QI study should align with QI study components identified in Chapter 5 of the AAAHC Standards and include:

  • stating the purpose and goal of the study
  • identifying the source of the data and how it was collected and analyzed
  • stating how the findings compare to the goal
  • providing a description of the intervention/corrective action plan, an analysis of the results of re-measurement, and how QI study findings were share throughout the organization